Garrett & Kenzie Keck

Dining Room Re-do

on March 5, 2013

When we moved to this house, I didn’t buy a whole lot of extra things to decorate the rooms with. When you look at square footage, this house isn’t much bigger than our old duplex. The layout is much different and that provides more space, but we did not have a difficult time filling up the extra space. I bought a few bins for my new craft room, a few pictures for our bedroom, but beyond that, we didn’t buy a whole lot.

The dining room however, was something we did not have at our old duplex. We used to have a kitchen table there, but we got rid of it because we usually ate on the couch while watching TV and the kitchen table because an extra space to stack our piles of crap. However, in an attempt to be more civilized human beings and watch less TV, I decided that we really should have a table. Also there was an awkward space in our house where a table should be.

Luckily, my old roommates were cleaning out their spare room and offered me a table and chairs for free! They are so great. The table had a few scratches so I decided it would be the perfect victim of “Mackenzie’s First Home Project.”

I went into this project with tons of motivation and dreams of eating at the table within the week! I’m sure all of my readers out there who have ever re-finished anything are now laughing to themselves … as well you should be!

The table started out looking like this:

20130305-104901.jpg

On my next day off work, I got started sanding the table. After about 30 minutes I came to the realization that I can do just about any boring task as long as I can watch TV or listen to music at the same time – neither of which I could do over the noise of an electric sander.  I was BORED. All my previous motivation left me and I didn’t touch the table for probably 2 or 3 weeks. And yes – I did complain about losing my car spot in the garage to Garrett even though it was no one’s fault but my own. Then I happened to have an entire week off of work. I decided that I really should finish the darn thing! So I did. I made myself stay in the garage until that stupid thing was all the way sanded, and then I read on the back of the paint can that wood primer sticks to anything – no sanding necessary. So that was great. -.-

Anyways, here is what it looked like after a couple coats of primer.

20130305-104919.jpg

Here is what it looked like after I painted it blue! After letting the paint cure for 3 or so days, we moved it inside!

20130305-104931.jpg

I bought some red curtains and some shelves for the dining room wall. Here is a terrible iPhone picture of the table inside our dining room. I turned on every single light surrounding the dining room and it’s still so dark! I guess I could have opened the curtains …

One day, I hope to paint the chairs white (right now they are a dark green color) – but I have no idea when that will happen.

20130305-105053.jpg

Here is a close-up of the dining room shelves. I finally have a space for all of my elephant collectibles! I got the picture frame and candle from Target to tie in with the red curtains, and the mason jars are filled with a vase filler stone type stuff that is similar to the color of the table.

20130305-105135.jpg

I really do like how it all looks now – but I definitely don’t see any more furniture refinishing in my near future!

Leave a Reply

