Garrett & Kenzie Keck

Valentine’s Day Dessert

on February 26, 2013

I am obviously a few weeks behind in blogging!

I wanted to do a post about the dessert I made for Valentine’s Day. I wanted to do something a little bit fancier than chocolate chip cookies for the big day!
I started out by pouring some melted semi-sweet chocolate into some silicone baking cups. I coated the sides simply by tilting the cups at different angles.
20130226-133309.jpg

After putting them in the freezer for about 30 minutes, it was really easy to just pull the petals of the flower and separate the chocolate from the baking cup. (PS – I found these baking cups at Hobby Lobby. I couldn’t find any at Target or Bed, Bath and Beyond.)

20130226-133321.jpg

While the cups were freezing, I had mixed up some cream cheese, lemon juice, powdered sugar, and vanilla. I honestly don’t know exact measurements – I just added ingredients until it looked and tasted good. I scooped the mixture into a Ziplock bag, shoved it all into one corner of the bag, and cut one of the corners off. Then I just piped it into the chocolate cups.

20130226-133338.jpg

For the top, I got about a 1/2 cup of frozen strawberries and mixed them up with some sugar over low heat in a saucepan. Once the strawberries are thawed, you should have a nice syrupy-strawberry mix, similar to ice cream topping. I just drizzled it over each cup and then added some fresh blackberries and raspberries.

20130226-133350.jpg

Let me tell you – these were good. I don’t like to brag about my cooking or baking, but I will make an exception for these! They were so delicious. They look complicated, but they were actually fairly easy to make!

My mom said that they looked professional and that she bet people would pay for them. I had been thinking about selling some of the desserts I can make, especially because I know so many moms that order desserts because they just don’t have time to make them. So, if you are a busy mom reading this blog, and you need some dessert for a dinner party, baby shower, or birthday party – please let me know.
I will say that I cannot decorate cakes – but I can make a mean pound cake! I also enjoy making cheesecakes, cookies, or desserts like the one above.

Leave a Reply

