Garrett & Kenzie Keck

25!

on February 7, 2013

I turned 25 on Tuesday. My first indication that I was older was when every single joint popped while I was dragging myself out of bed. I know 25 isn’t old, but my body sure felt old that morning!

I had to work on my birthday, which normally would be a drag, but as work days go, it was a pretty good one. 

Garrett was able to meet me for lunch, so I loaded Maggie up into the car and we went to Smashburger. If you happen to have never been to Smashburger, I suggest that you find the closest one to you and drive there as soon as possible. I recommend the sweet potato fries. Their burgers are phenomenal. Unfortunately, Maggie had to have peas and carrots .. so sad for her. 😦

Image

 

 

In the afternoon, we picked up Jason from preschool and we went to get birthday cupcakes at Sara Sara. Jason’s birthday is on Valentine’s Day and last year we went to get cupcakes the week in between our birthdays and we decided to carry on the tradition this year. Here he is with his strawberry milk and strawberry shortcake cupcake. 

Image

 

 

Garrett and I both got home from work a little bit later than expected because of traffic, so we were both frazzled and exhausted. Driving in Edmond rush hour traffic is something that I would not wish on anyone. So, we ordered pizza from our favorite pizza place, Marcos, and then we were able to Skype with my family. Unfortunately, my brothers and dad were sick so they didn’t stick around for long, but we got to talk to my mom, sister, and niece for quite awhile. Our niece just turned one, and she is as cute as ever. She waved, blew kisses, showed off her hot pink baby Converse shoes, said “hi” one million times, and tried to share her sippy cup with us through the computer screen. I think that was the best part of the day!

We finished the day with a slice of cake that Garrett made me over the weekend. I wasn’t going to have a cake, because who wants to make their own birthday cake? Not me. Garrett decided he would try to make it. I stayed out of his way for the most part and he did great! He cooks dinner quite a bit, but I think this was his first time trying baking. It tastes as delicious as it looks. 🙂

Image

Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

This weekend, my dad is coming to visit, which is something he has done around my birthday for the last couple years. We have plans to eat out at Cattleman’s Steak House, go to the zoo, and lounge around watching multiple episodes of Wonder Years on Netflix.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

