Garrett & Kenzie Keck

Before i’m 25 — Update

on January 15, 2013

On my old blog, I made a list of 9 things that I wanted to accomplish/work on before I turned 25. I turn 25 in 21 days, so I thought I should update on how I’m doing. Even if no one reads this, it will give me a chance to evaluate and see what I still need to work on.

1. Realize that 25 isn’t that old.

HA. I still need to work on this. I have considered completely ignoring that it is my birthday just so that no one will acknowledge it except for people that really know me. I’m debating taking it off Facebook and just having the day be completely normal. No going out to eat, no party, no nothing. I am actually having a really hard time turning 25.

2. Complete my yellow and gray bedroom! 

Mostly done! The only thing left to get are white nightstands. The house is almost decorated how I want. Once we have the guest room set up I will post pictures on here of the new house!

3. Get more involved with God.

Always working on this. I started teaching the kindergarten class at church. It gets me out of bed for church and I really enjoy doing it. We have been making some big personal decisions lately as well, and we have really been trying to remember that God is in control and that it’s a good thing to ask him for help.

4. “Bloom where I’m planted.”

I am … slowly … beginning to be a little more ok with the fact that we bought a house in OK and will definitely be living here for at least the next 5 years. Of course, one of my best friends moving here definitely helped!

5. When I tell people, “I’ll be praying for you!” actually do it.

This is something I will have to continuously work on – but I’m getting better! It helps me to say a little prayer for them either out loud or in my head right after I tell them that we will be praying for them.

6. Go somewhere that I avoid because of bad memories and make a good memory there. 

I still need to do this – and I know exactly where to go!

7. Eat healthier. 

Mostly a success if you ignore the fairly large bag of sweethearts that I ate this weekend. We have been trying a lot of new and healthier recipes for dinner and so far we have liked them all!

8. See a midnight showing … we have been avoiding them ever since Captain America. Saying “no” to invitations to midnight premiers makes me feel old.

I was hoping to see the midnight premier of Les Mis but SOMEONE *cough cough* said no. Obviously he (or she haha) is holding me back from completing my goals. How rude.
Actually, I don’t think this is going to happen, mostly because midnight showings are always on Thursday nights and I work at 7:15 on Friday mornings. Les Mis coming out on Christmas Eve was pretty much my only opportunity to do that. Oh, well.

9. Play more piano when other people are around.

An epic fail. I still only play when I’m alone.  I have 21 days to get started!

One response to “Before i’m 25 — Update

  1. Nicki says:

    Ok, so at first I thought by sweethearts you meant those nasty valentine’s day candies. Then I realized you meant the other somewhat-gross hard candy. Ha! I would so spend a splurge on gummies instead! Overall some impressive strides. And remember, if 25 is old, then I am… older. Than that. Yeah. So don’t be old!

Leave a Reply

