Garrett & Kenzie Keck

Food!

on January 14, 2013

One of my goals for this year was to try out some new recipes. So far we are off to a great start!  Last week I made three new recipes – all of which were mostly well received by Garrett. WIN.

The first one I made was Apricot Chicken. This is a crockpot recipe which is awesome! I don’t use my crockpot nearly enough. I put the chicken in right before we went to a movie, and it was done when we got home. You can find the recipe here. The sauce looks a little sketchy at first and the mixture of ingredients are 3 things that I would have never dreamed of putting together, but it turned out to be really delicious. 

Next I made vegetable soup. I actually wasn’t the biggest fan of this one, but Garrett loved it, so I guess that’s a win in my book. This recipe makes a ton, so if there are just 2 of you, I would recommend halving it, unless you want to eat it for at least 3 meals. The good thing about this recipe is that it is low in calories (185/serving) and super filling. That recipe can be found here. I didn’t follow this recipe exactly. We don’t like onions and we didn’t have parsely, so I just put in some random herbs.

Next, I tried Vegetable Ritoni. I loved it but Garrett said the noodles were boring. It didn’t really have any sauce except for chicken broth, but you could easily dump a can of spaghetti sauce over this and it would still be great! I will probably do that next time. That recipe is here. Again, we didn’t follow the recipe exactly. We put an entire container of mushrooms in because we both like them, some cherry tomatoes for Garrett, and not quite enough spinach. We went ahead and cooked the whole box of noodles so that we would have leftovers – but then I forgot to double the rest of the recipe. Oops. This website is chock full of recipes for just 2 people. I love it!

Maybe my next food post will include pictures, but don’t count on it. 
Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

