Garrett & Kenzie Keck

Goals for 2013!

on January 3, 2013

2012 was a great year. It ended with a trip to Colorado where Garrett and I spent our first Christmas with my parents. It was a great week, and I’ll share my favorite picture of the week here:

 

Image

This is our niece, Lily, after she opened the Christmas present we got her. Love her smile!

Even thought I did not accomplish my one goal of the week, which was getting Lily to say “Aunt Zizi” it was still a great trip and much needed vacation.

The day after we got back, a great friend of mine surprised me by showing up at my house to tell me that he moved to Edmond. I could not imagine a better way to end the year. I was shocked, to put it lightly. My friend Devin helped pull off the surprise, and it went flawlessly. 

Now that 2012 is over, I figured that I should jump on the blogging bandwagon and post my goals for 2013. 

1. Get in shape! Isn’t this everyone’s goal?! I don’t just want to wear a bikini come summertime, I want to just feel better. I just feel draggy all the time. Also, I’ve heard working out helps with sleep and I feel like I very rarely get a good night’s sleep.

2. Cook a new food every week. I think Garrett and I eat a total of 10 meals. We know what we like, I guess! But, I am ready to add some new recipes to our menu. Maybe by the end of the year we can have a whole month with no repeated meals. I have pinned hundreds of recipes on Pinterest, so I’m going to start with those. I’ll be posting the recipes that we love on this blog.

3. Visit somewhere we have never been. I’m pushing for a big “before kids” trip to San Francisco. I know it’s not as exciting as going overseas but it seems more doable financially, especially when you consider goal number 4 …

4. Really start saving for kids. Whether we decide to adopt or go another route, it will cost thousands more than the average person’s pregnancy. I have always wanted kids, but I feel ready now. Even though the cost still blows my mind, I feel like we are in a good place right now. Our marriage is very strong and we have a house with plenty of room for a couple kiddos. 

5. Read at least 30 books. Growing up, I loved reading. My mom told me that I used to get up before school and read. Apparently I’ve never been great at sleeping in. I think my literature based history curriculum in high school, as well as my literature classes in college completely ruined reading for me. In 2012 I read 4 books. That is absolutely atrocious. I didn’t even read my 2 books that I read every year (Les Mis and Uncle Tom’s Cabin). Please comment with any books that you think are a must-read!

Happy 2013 everyone!

 

One response to “Goals for 2013!

  1. Mary says:

    I read a great book last year that I think you would like. It is called “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio. It is a quick read with each chapter from a different persons view point. It is about a little boy who is not normal according to our world standards.

Leave a Reply

